Album Review: Meat Beat Manifesto's "Autoimmune" …Bring 'dem Dubstep!

Meat Beat Manifesto's Autoimmune Album Cover Let's start this off by weeding out a few people. If you belong to any of the following groups, skip this review completely, and just go buy the album right now (yes, seriously): 1. Any previous Meat Beat fans 2. Fans of electronic dub, glitch, or dubstep music 3. Lovers of grimey, deep bass Now that we have them on their way, I can get to talking about what makes Meat Beat Manifesto, and this album in particular, so interesting. Jack Dangers, the figure-head visionary behind the group, started playing heavy, repetitive, industrial-esque music many many years ago in a country far, far away. He found his sound-style early on—with a love of Dub/Reggae, syncopated rhythms, and obscure samples—and has been refining that sound ever since. We have seen MBM move from the raw industrial sounds, to acidy electronic samples, to dub, then a quick dip into jazz, all while keeping a seriously grounded, deep reggae-like bassline and layers upon layers of funky drum patterns. I was almost certain that Jack and Crew were going to spiral off into more of this Jazz-infused madness with their new record, but was pleasantly surprised to find Autoimmune following in the footstep of the best previous albums, but yet again, pushing new sound elements into the already perfected mixture. By adding the wicked dirty dubstep bass sounds to their palette (distinguished by the dark, gritty mood, sparse rhythms, and emphasis on bass), Meat Beat Manifesto has followed the natural course which today seems totally fitting (although was shockingly new when I first played the album). So who really should be a fan of Meat Beat Manifesto? If you are a fan of deep, dirty funk, dub/reggae, hip hop, dubstep, or glitch; it is a must-have. Mind you, MBM is all and none of these at the same time. You will hear pieces and parts of most everything and yet if they were played alongside of any of these on a radio station, it would definately stand apart. If you however, prefer your music light, fluffy, and soft... you could probably easily skip this release and be on your way. Okay, so all this means mostly nothing without some music right? Well, here you go... a few samples of the new album, fresh-in-stores now. Enjoy. Children of Earth: Play Solid Waste: Play Spanish Vocoder: Play Tour Dates are as follows: Wed, Apr 09 in Seattle, WA @ Neumo's Thu, Apr 10 in Portland, OR @ Berbatti's Pan Fri, Apr 11 in San Francisco, CA @ Slims Sat, Apr 12 in Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Sun, Apr 13 in San Diego, CA @ Cane's Wed, Apr 16 in Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theatre Sat, Apr 19 in Chicago, IL @ The Abbey Mon, Apr 21 in Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop Tue, Apr 22 in Buffalo, NY @ Showplace Theatre Wed, Apr 23 in Toronto, ON @ Lee's Palace Thu, Apr 24 in Boston, MA @ Middle East Sat, Apr 26 in New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom Sun, Apr 27 in Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel Mon, Apr 28 in Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle Tue, Apr 29 in Atlanta, GA @ Smith's Old Bar Wed, Apr 30 in Orlando, FL @ The Social Fri, May 02 in Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live Sat, May 03 in Austin, TX @ Club Deville Sun, May 04 in Dallas, TX @ Granada Theatre To read more about the story behind the album, check out Wired's articles! Or check the Meat Beat Manifesto MySpace page for more.

About the Author

kc! Bradshaw is the Creative Director for LEGENDmag, a founder of CircleSavvy and works as a freelance graphic designer for Exkclamation. In his spare time, he enjoys the finer textures of life; rides his classic motorcycle; and absolutely loves music. Stalk him on Twitter.